Find us on
IPO Issues Rights Issue Webmail
Regulatory Bodies
Bangladesh Securities & Exchange Commission

The Bangladesh Securities and Exchange Commission (BSEC) was established on 8th June, 1993 under the Securities and Exchange Commission Act, 1993.The Commission is consisted of the Chairman and four Commissioners. The Chairman and Members of the Commission are appointed by the government and have overall responsibility to administer securities legislation. The Commission is a statutory body and attached to the Ministry of Finance. The mission of the commission is to protect the interests of securities investors, develop and maintain fair, transparent and efficient securities markets and ensuring proper issuance of securities and compliance with securities laws.

Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE)

The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE) was incorporated in 1954 and the formal trading was started in 1956. DSE is registered as a Public Limited Company and its activities are regulated by its Articles of Association rules & regulations and bye-laws along with the Securities and Exchange Ordinance, 1969, Companies Act 1994 and Bangladesh Securities & Exchange Commission Act, 1993. At present, there are 297 companies and 221 Treasury Bonds are listed with DSE.

Chittagong Stock Exchange (CSE)

The Chittagong Stock Exchange (CSE) began its journey in 10th October of 1995 from Chittagong City through the cry-out trading system with the promise to create a state-of-the art bourse in the country. Founder members of the proposed Chittagong Stock Exchange approached the Bangladesh Government in January 1995 and obtained the permission of the Securities and Exchange Commission on February 12, 1995 for establishing the country's second stock exchange. The Exchange has a policymaking Body of 24 members, of whom 12 are elected and 12 are non-elected. This Board comprises of one President, three Vice Presidents and 19 Directors. There is an independent secretariat headed by a Chief Executive Officer (CEO). CSE currently has 257 securities listed with it.

Bangladesh Bank

Bangladesh Bank (BB), the central bank as well as chief authority to regulate country's monetary and financial system, was established in Dhaka as a corporate body vide the Bangladesh Bank Order, 1972 (P.O. No. 127 of 1972) with effect from 16th December, 1971. Bangladesh Bank started functioning with all capital and liabilities of the then Dhaka branch of State Bank of Pakistan. At present it has 10 branches and those are located at Motijheel, Khulna, Sadarghat, Bogra, Chittagong , Sylhet, Barisal, Rangpur, Rajshahi and Mymensingh in Bangladesh.

The general superintendence and direction of affairs and business of the Bank are entrusted to a Ten member Board of Directors which consists of the Governor as chairman, a Deputy Governor, eight senior government and non-government officials having experience and proven capacity in the fields of banking, trade, commerce, industry or agriculture - all nominated by the government. The Governor, appointed by the government as the chief executive officer, directs and controls all the affairs of the Bank on behalf of the Board.
Board of Investment (BOI)

The Board of Investment (BOI) was established by the Investment Board Act of 1989 to promote and facilitate investment in the private sector both from domestic and overseas sources with a view to contribute to the socio-economic development of Bangladesh. It is headed by the Prime Minister and is a part of the Prime Minister's Office. Its membership includes representatives (at the highest level) of the relevant ministries - industry, finance, planning, textiles, well as others, such as the Governor of Bangladesh Bank, heads of some business associations. The executive council of BOI consisted of an Executive Chairman along with three members and a secretary.

Products & Services
Investment Banking
Rights Issue
Capital Raising
Corporate Advisory
Structured Finance
Loan Syndication
Bond and Convertibles
Private Equity
Merger and Acquisition
Portfolio Management
Cap Edge
Managed Cap Edge